We had God over for Dinner Last Night

So since the whole hospital stuff has started with me, our church family has been blessing us with meals. More meals than we can usually eat. Last night some dear friends from church stopped in to see if they could bring us some BBQ for dinner and what sides we would like. As it happened, we already had an abundance of food, and the delivery from last night was in the oven cooking We politely declined, but invited them to stay, and they graciously accepted.

After blessing the food and those that prepared it; dinner discussion was polite, comical, and relaxing. I think everyone was doing there best to keep me relaxed as they understood I skipped a round of pain medications, to be coherent for this meal. Shortly after everyone was finished eating our friend Dawn brought in some brownies she had made and offered dessert (they were off the chain – by the way). It was about now that the discussion turned spiritual. Apparently God had more than a meal planned for the 4 of us last night.

The topic of discussion was Isaiah 6. Essentially how a man of God (Isaiah) could have such a wrong heart. Isaiah even claimed himself a sinful man with filthy lips. God chose this moment to clean Isaiah and give him the following message… And he said, “Yes, go, and say to this people, ‘Listen carefully, but do not understand. Watch closely, but learn nothing.’ Harden the hearts of these people. Plug their ears and shut their eyes. That way, they will not see with their eyes, nor hear with their ears, nor understand with their hearts and turn to me for healing.” (Isaiah 6: 9-10) Discussion continued that once we accept Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior our ALL of our past wrongs and sins are not only forgiven, but forgotten. If this is true, how come on “Judgement Day” we have to make an accounting of our lives, both good deeds and bad deeds? The discussion was tear filled for some, thought-provoking for others, and even troublesome for some (like myself who have lived far less than a righteous life, some may even say a life that would make Attila the Hun blush) who are wrestling with this issue daily.

A while later the discussion turned light again and we all were able to celebrate our time of fellowship and worship together. I consider the four of us very dear friends, and believe that God puts us together to enjoy ourselves and have fun while still being able to study and learn His message and plans for us.

As I went to bed last night and again when I awoke this morning, I was still praying on these issues. I don’t believe I will ever have all the answers to this topic until the blessed day I get to stand before my Father God and go through the process. However, I do believe God did lead me to some verses that I think helped me to understand this issue a little better. I will never be able to walk in the footsteps of Christ, as I am man. My goal now that I have Jesus Christ in my heart is to try to walk as close to those footsteps as I can.

As humans, we can’t “unring” the bell, once it is done, it is done. God however has the power to not only forgive but to forget our bell ringing, both right and wrong.  One day, when I am called before my King and asked to account for all my bell rings, I know that because of His Grace, my soul will rest in heaven with Him.

2 thoughts on “We had God over for Dinner Last Night

Leave a Reply

